MUSAS, Santarcangelo’s Historical Archaeological Museum was founded in 2005 with the aim of preserving and enhancing the archaeological, historical and artistic heritage of the city and neighbouring territories.
The Museum is divided into different sections where the visitor can learn about the small settlement created during Roman times which later became a fortified settlement during the Middle Ages, then became part of the Malatesta family’s territory, and eventually evolved to be the modern town it is today.
The archaeological section showcases artefacts and exhibits which demonstrate that the area was important for agriculture and craftsmanship, especially during the Roman period.
The artistic section illustrates the history of Santarcangelo from the Middle Ages through to the 19th century.
There are many artefacts from St. Francis’s Church, which was one of the city’s most important monuments. It was situated in Ganganelli Square, where the elementary school is now located.
Among the most notable pieces are: the famous polyptych of Jacobello da Bonomo from 1385 and an altarpiece from 1531 by the Ravenna-born painter Luca Longhi.
In the rooms dedicated to the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries, there are many paintings by local artists and other important artists.
One room is dedicated to Pope Clement XIV, born in Santarcangelo in 1705 (died in Rome in 1774) and held in very high esteem by the people of Santarcangelo. In this room we find various portraits of the Pope and many religious objects donated by him to the friars of the church of St. Francis.
The museum is housed in Palazzo Cenci, built between the 17th and 18th century as private noble residence for the family Cenci. Since the 19th century the building is owned by the city of Santarcangelo.